A is for Autumn Quinoa Bowl

Remember when I promised you I’d post about my rediscovery and obsession with quinoa? Well, as promised, here is the post.

Excited, aren’t you? I know. Just try and contain yourself.

Seriously. You’re excitement is kind of pathetic.

A sweet and precious friend of mine somehow ended up with a double subscription to Better Homes and Gardens Magazine . I was obsessing over reading the awesome articles, when I came across a word that definitely caught my attention.

Couscous.

I am a slave to couscous. I love it. I crave couscous. I dream about swimming in a big bowl of garlic and buttery couscous. Unfortunately, my stomach does not share my infatuation with the miniscule pasta, so I replace my love with my new obsession: quinoa.

So here is my recipe that every person should make at least once between the months of September and December.

Autumn Quinoa Bowl (recipe adapted from BHG Magazine):

1 2-lb butternut squash, peeled and chopped into 1/2 inch pieces (about 4 cups)

2 cups small cauliflower florets

1 cup quinoa

3 tbsp butter

1/2 cup black walnut vinegerette (or other sweet sauce that you might want to use)

1/4 cup shelled pistachios

 

Preheat broiler. Start with peeling and chopping the squash. Then place the squash and 2 tbsps of water in a large microwave safe bowl; cover with vented plastic wrap and zap in the microwave on 100% power for 5-8 minutes or until crisp/tender; stir once.

Place cauliflower and squash on a baking pan and sprinkle with salt and pepper; lightly coat with cooking spray and broil for 10 minutes or until it starts to brown. But not black like below. Try not to get caught up in trying to be Taylor Swift performing in the kitchen and forget the squash… On the other hand, be Taylor Swift. Sing loudly and dance wildly in your kitchen with all the windows open… serenade the neighbors… they’ll love you for it.

Meanwhile, make your quinoa. Or couscous. Or brown rice. Or whatever starchy-goodness you decide to pair it with. It’s secret sharing time…My name is Kirby and I boil my quinoa in chicken broth. Ain’t nothin’ like it folks.

Now for my favorite part… the sauce… it involves butter. Can I get an amen?? Nuke your sauce in the microwave… I added worcestershire sauce for a little extra flava-flave.

Shell some pistachios meanwhile trying to cram as many shelled nuggets in your mouth that you knock your camera and make the pictures really blurry.. then grab some more pistachios to console yourself for not being the photographer that you wish you were…

Then put it all together and slap your husband’s hand as he tries to take his plate away to eat… realize that the phrase, “I need to take a picture” is becoming your mantra.

Ask yourself, “what a mantra is, anyway?”. Realize you don’t care and dig in and enjoy fall… enjoy fall on a bright yellow plate… with the person you love most in the world… or your dog… or multiple reruns of your new favorite show Hart of Dixie. Whatever’s your style. Just enjoy it, because fall doesn’t last long…

What are your thoughts?