Gluten-Free Fruit and Nut Breakfast Muffins

Holy Moly!

Where has the time gone? Have I really been in hibernation for the last month? Is that real life?

Since I last posted, we have gone from having snow to having beautiful green leaves on trees. I have transitioned from the worst semester of my nursing career to my last three classes. And… I have discovered Shauna Niequist and her beautiful book Bread & Wine. So much has happened yet things are scarily the same.

Sit down with a cup of coffee and let’s catch up!

Despite our crazy busy both-in-school-barely-scraping-by lives, J and I have managed to squeeze in some quality time in the kitchen. See… it’s been awhile but I’m still me.

I still believe in butter and heavy cream. I’m still the person who talks WAY too much about her love for bacon and drinks large amounts of strong coffee. I’m still that person who tells everyone she knows about the new book that she is LOVING until they roll their eyes and agree to go buy it just to placate me. I’m still that girl who complains of stomach aches but refuses to completely give up gluten. See despite my hiatus from the blog world, I haven’t changed.

However, these days, whether it’s the fresh new weather or all the green popping up, I’m working on balance. Think more greens and less bacon.

I know.. crazy talk…

That’s where these muffins come in.

010

These suckers were created for balance… they have a subtle sweetness to them and are deliciously tart and warm… and perfect.

I made them gluten-free but I don’t think there would be a problem with substituting whole-wheat flour or all-purpose flour if that’s your thing.

Gluten Free Fruit and Nut Breakfast Muffins:

  • 1-1/4 cups gluten-free baking mix (I use Pam’s)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped is probably better but I did mine whole
  • 1 cup fruit of your choice (I used frozen berry mix but peaches, blueberries, bananas, mangos could totally be wonderful. Just remember to add a little bit more water if you use dried fruit0
  • 1/2 cup sweetened coconut
  • 1 tsp vanilla

 

Preheat the oven to 350 (F) degrees.Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Spoon into greased muffin pan. Bake for 20 minutes. Cool and serve. Makes 6 muffins. Note: Because it’s breakfast, I didn’t use sugar but feel free to add some or honey if if that’s how you roll. This is your breakfast after all. I dipped mine in black coffee… to each her/his own.

009

Don’t worry, I ate bacon on my turkey burger last night so I’m still keeping my priorities 🙂

I’m throwing a Cinco de Mayo party tonight so I’ll have a rockin’ enchilada recipe to share on Monday.

Hope you enjoy these muffins as much as I did.

Happy Friday friends! TGIF!

 

 

What are your thoughts?

