Whole-y Blueberry Bran muffins

It’s finally spring here. The sun is out and the birds are chirping.

The days feel so charming despite their rather chilly temperatures for April.

I’m in love with Spring. Have we talked about this?

Growing up in Texas it’s pedal to the metal from winter to summer. Texas doesn’t stop for spring.

Indiana? Indiana stops, steps out of the car, and stretches in spring, before driving into summer.

I love it.

This year though, I have to admit that I’m WAY behind on garden preparations… as in I haven’t done any at all. I guess that’s the perk of having a late spring…. I can be lazy and it doesn’t hurt me.

It’s lovely and I adore it. The end.

This past weekend we were at my in-laws in Michigan and my Mother-in-law, Deb, made delicious bran muffins for Sunday breakfast. When we got home, J was begging me to make some so I obliged but changed a few things.

Here are the main characters in the whole wheat blueberry bran muffin play….

030

Whole wheat flour, salt, sugar, baking powder whisked together in a large bowl…

032

All-bran cereal soaked in skim milk and canola oil with an egg…

034

And frozen blueberries… just doing what frozen blueberries do…. chillin’. (ba-da-bump)

033

Mix everything together and throw them in a muffin pan like so…

036

Then give them  a good bake and voila!

037

These are seriously the perfect snack for a semi-warm spring day. They’ll make you feel all healthy inside and out.

Here’s the actual recipe breakdown taken from Kellogg’s website with my adaptions added in.

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour (all purpose optional)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups Ready-To-Eat Cereal All-Bran® Original
  • 1 1/4 cups fat-free milk (might need a splash more if using whole wheat flour)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2-1 cup frozen blueberries

 

1. Stir together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl and set aside for later use.

2. In large mixing bowl, combine ALL-BRAN cereal and milk. Let stand about 2 minutes or until cereal softens. Add egg and oil. Beat well. Add flour mixture, stirring only until combined. Portion evenly into twelve 2 1/2-inch muffin pan cups coated with cooking spray.

3. Bake at 400° F about 20 minutes or until golden brown. Cool 10 minutes. Serve warm.

Beware, if you make them with whole wheat flour, it’s a lot of fiber. Don’t say I didn’t warn you 🙂

Have a wonderful week friends.

Happy Spring!

What are your thoughts?

