Easy Peasy Spicy Honey Glazed Chicken

Well hello there friends!

It’s been awhile.

Spring break has arrived, for me at least, and I am living it up. I tell you, things are crazy here at the W household.

So far this week I have scrubbed and cleaned out my refrigerator, done copious amounts of laundry, washed the walls behind my stove and sink, made multiple lists for spring cleaning musts, and edited photos for future blog posts.

 

I’m narrowly avoiding Girls Gone Wild with all my crazy festivities.

Obviously, I’m being sarcastic. I know this probably does not sound like your typical or dream spring break, but believe it or not, I’m loving it (insert McDonald’s jingle here). I don’t take the time to do these things when school’s in session so it’s nice to have the time to get them done.

Don’t worry, I’m also cooking, baking, and working on future blog posts too. Gotta mix in a little bit of fun with business, ya know?

I mentioned a couple of weeks back that I was taking some time to work on some recipes and actually cook. I know there are so many of you out there who, like me, love to hang out in the kitchen but run short on time. I refreshed my love of cooking a couple of weekends ago when I made three large meals in three days.

Those meals seriously carried us through the following week. I am such a proponent of left-overs, it’s not even funny.

One meal that I made came on the spur of the moment. I had plans for something else, but after reading a few recipes, decided to try a new one. Four words: Spicy. Honey. Glazed. Chicken.

Seriously amazing and super quick. This is a perfect recipe for those of us who love good food but don’t have many hours in the kitchen.

I adapted the recipe from here.

010

What you’ll need:

  • 2 heaping tbsp. garlic powder
  • 2 heaping tbsp. chili powder
  • Dash of salt
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • 1/2-3/4 tsp. red pepper (I tend to lean towards more for more spice)
  • 6 chicken thighs, thawed
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 3 tsp. red wine vinegar
  • Cooking spray

 

Preheat broiler. Mix all of your spices together with the vinegar and honey. One by one, dredge the chicken thighs in the mixture until fully coated. Spray cooking spray on broiling pan (I used a cooling rack placed inside of a larger pan). Broil for 5 minutes. Take out of oven, turn and broil 5 more minutes. Remove chicken and flip, broil for 1 more minute each side (or until fully cooked). Serves: 6.

Total this took about 20 minutes from start to finish and was delicious. It kept well too which was a major perk.

On a side note, we’re supposed to get up to 10 inches of snow over the next 24 hours… you would think that with this being March that I would be upset by this but ya know… I’m way excited. I hope we get every bit of that 10 inches. Let’s pray for our last snow hoorah!

I’ll be posting a lasagna recipe later this week so  be on the lookout.

Happy Tuesday friends.

Kirby

 

What are your thoughts?

