(Vanilla) Spice Up Your Life

“People of the world…”

“Spice up your life…”

“Every boy and every girl…”

“Spice up your life..”

Please tell me you can appreciate (and sing along) to Spice Girls this morning… it’s Tuesday and it’s raining and chilly and it definitely calls for a Spice Girls serenade.

I’m glad we could share this moment.

Fall came early this year and I don’t hate it. I was one of those that grew up marking September 1st as the real first day of fall… no matter what the rest of the nation thought.

Well it’s here and it’s here to stay folks. At least if you’re in the upper midwest. And it’s a beautiful thing.

The first chilly morning we had here I found myself in the kitchen wanting something that reminded me corn maizes, pumpkin patches and hot apple cider. This was a little difficult seeming how it was about 5:30 in the morning…So I put my creative cap on (as creative as one can be that early) and I came up with a vanilla spice protein shake.

It rocked my world.

I don’t know about you but I find that I get so hungry by mid-morning but these suckers do the trick to keep me full until lunch… and it doesn’t hurt that it tastes like a vanilla chai shake…. or Christmas in a cup as J said.

You can make it too!

  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • A few drops vanilla extract
  • A few drops almond extract
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. allspice
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt (or milk if you prefer)
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar free vanilla pudding
  • Xanthan gum (optional)
  • Ice cubes
  • 3/4 cup water (if you decide on yogurt instead of milk)

Put it in the blender and let it go to work. Feel free to adjust as per your taste.

Since discovering this I think I’ve had it a dozen times… I found my new fall addiction.

Speaking of addictions… I have just discovered the ABC Family series Pretty Little Liars. If you were a fan for this entire time and didn’t share it with me, we’re on a friend break. I love this show. I can’t believe no one ever told me about it…Not that being in school full time, coaching soccer, working at the bakery in the mornings, running a blog and being a wife really leaves any time for obsessions with teenage t.v. dramas but…

Happy fall Tuesday!

xo, Kirby

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “(Vanilla) Spice Up Your Life

What are your thoughts?

