Happy Independence Day

It’s the 4th of July today and I am loving it.

Aside from Christmas, the 4th is one of my favorite holidays.

I live for BBQ cook-outs, corn on the cob, a cold lake on a  hot weather day, fireworks and getting to spend some much needed down time with friends.

I hope you’re enjoying today as much as I am (even though I have yet to put down my studies all day).

Our town celebrated our nation’s independence this past weekend… here you can see the gathering of people in the park for the patriotic pops concert… we had a great view from our porch.

We’re going to a friends house tonight for a small get together and we’re all supposed to bring a dish. As I was thinking about what I wanted to bring, I decided on my favorite 4th of July tradition (that I just started last year)….

Tres Leches Cake.

I know, it doesn’t sound traditionally American but come on… I’m from Texas… I speak Tex-Mex.

The Pioneer Woman’s Tres Leches cake is my go-to recipe… you can find it here.

I made this last year for our W family get together and it was a big hit… I even got cheesy and made an American flag out of strawberries and blueberries to garnish the top…

Here’s what it looks like before the decor…

That white stuff on the top… that’s liquid gold. Sweetened condensed milk, heavy cream and evaporated milk liquid gold…. this stuff makes the cake.

We whipped some whip cream and added in on top with fruit…

Happy Fourth of July friends! Happy 306 birthday America!

I’m so thankful for you, this country and our many freedoms.

What are your thoughts?

