My Fitness Pal App… Gotta Get It!

Well hello Thursday. It’s so good to see you bright and early this morning. Wait… I mean dark and early. Definitely dark and early. The sun doesn’t rise prior to 5 am.

Coffee?? I don’t need no stinkin’ coffee. I have pure… adventure to thrive off of.

Why all the adventure you ask?

As of recently, I have the immense opportunity to help out and bake early in the mornings at a local bakery for a bit this coming month. And for those of you who have not known me my whole life, let me tell you…. it has been a childhood/teenage dream (not a reference to the Katy Perry song) to own/manage my own bakery and coffee shop… but then again, I’m pretty sure that’s most every teenager who loves coffees dream.

Luckily for me, I married into a family who happens to own and manage a bakery/cafe/coffee shop and I’ve been able to see and experience first hand how awesome and also how much work goes into it. I think I’m fine living vicariously through them for now. It’s better this way. I can pop in and out whenever I want but feel as if I’m still cool because I’m semi-apart of this really awesome thing.

Some people call this a poser. I call it glorious.

With baking comes the obvious and oh-so-necessary taste testing. However, this does not happen as much in a commercial kitchen (to my disappointment) as it does in my own home. In my own kitchen, the counters are typically spotted with spoons that I’ve been using to “taste” the batter. FYI my “tasting” probably ranges in the 800-1000 calorie range… I’m a mega-taste tester for real.

Which brings me to my main point…. My Fitness Pal. Have you heard of it? Are you already on it?

Now I consider myself to be a semi-pretty healthy/health conscience individual… until I started tracking everything I was eating. Can you say sugar overload?? I mean, duh, I have sugar overload. I have a ginormous sweet tooth which my dentist ever so kindly pointed out to me last week… oh and told me to lay off the sweets….

Like that’s ever going to happen.

Back to the app. Clearly I need it.

I downloaded it to our Ipod touch yesterday and it’s been pretty great ever since… granted it’s been approximately 24 hours. But still… 24 hours and it’s going strong.

Here’s what the screen shots look like taken from My Fitness Pal website

This is your welcome screen…

Home

And when you go to add a food, it’s spelled out like this…Search

Then you add it and it gives you this great little break down of the day…Diary

You plug in your weight, height, age, gender, how much you want to gain/lose/maintain and your fitness level. It then generates the amount of calories that you need to take in to achieve your goal.

It allows you to add and look up food and add it to your diary as well as exercises and other important things…

Food

They have an incredibly large database with many different foods in it. It was so cool to get to the end of the day yesterday and not only have tracked my calorie intake, but also see how much of each essential nutritional component I was able to get in one day. It’s awesome.

I’m currently on day two… check me in 5 weeks! I’m going to need to accountability. See “sweet tooth” above.

The best part about it??? It’s totally FREE! That’s right, the app and website are free.

Check!

We thrifters love free things, don’t we?

If you’re remotely concerned or interested in health/fitness… or would like to be… I totally recommend this app. Like totally.

P.S. This is in NO way a paid advertisement. They don’t even know that I exist. I just love this product and had to share.

Over and out,

What are your thoughts?

