The Most Important Meal of the Day

J and I are in Texas this week. We’re spending Christmas with my family down here, so posts may be somewhat sporadic. Just a warning.

Growing up, my dad was the King of Breakfast. I can remember waking up at the crack of dawn most weekend mornings and him starting his famous biscuits and gravy. Well, not much has changed these twenty plus years. I woke up yesterday morning and after a few cups of coffee, dad went to work

It’s the epitome of a Southern meal. If you are watching your weight or counting calories, this is not your kind of meal. If you can appreciate bacon grease, butter and gravy… well then, keep reading.

Check it…

It all starts with thick cut bacon, cooked slow and steady so they don’t wrinkle…

While the bacon is cooking, start making the home made biscuits…timing is everything.

Put the biscuits in the oven and start mixing up the pancakes.. also cut of the sausage and throw it on.. sorry I don’t have a picture.. I was already WAY in the way and I didn’t want to be even more obnoxious than I already was…

When the sausage is cooked, take it out of the pan but keep the grease.  Throw in some flour and milk and scrape the bottom of the pan and cook on low until thick… seriously, best. gravy. ever.

Just look at all of this amazing food…

And that’s not even all of it…

Pile it high on your plate and dig in… yes, that’s gravy on my pancakes. If I would have taken more pics of the meal you would have seen gravy on my: bacon, eggs, sausage, spoon…. I love gravy. Clearly.

It’s almost Christmas. Make your loved ones a good hearty breakfast like this one. Put some meat on their bones so they’ll stay warm in these cold months. Nothing says love like biscuits, gravy, sausage, bacon, eggs, and pancakes. MMMMM…

A big howdy from Texas to ya!

4 thoughts on “The Most Important Meal of the Day

What are your thoughts?

