Oat of the Day

It started this morning.

I was on the treadmill, watching whatever boring news channel was on the t.v. when it happened… a Little Debbie commercial.

It hit me out of nowhere. There should really be a pre-Little Debbie warning label for television. Somebody invent that ASAP!

What? You don’t have an affinity for pre-packaged sweet treats? Sugar coated preservatives aren’t really your thing?

Well then, I’m so sorry. I don’t mean to step on your little “I prefer homemade” toes.

I LOVE me some sugar coated, preservative filled, calorie laden, super processed, terrible for my heart, Biggest Loser waiting to happen in a box, sweets. MMMM…

My poison? Oatmeal cream pies. Oh. My. Golly.

I dream in oatmeal cream pies. Or really anything that involves oatmeal. Particularly steel cut oats. Or pancakes. Or just plain cake. Really anything.

Sitting here… at lunch… writing a blog post… I am enjoying some warm, cinnamony oatmeal. Do you know how much oatmeal I have already consumed today? You really don’t want to know. Seriously, it might gross you out. Don’t even ask. Really…  it’s disturbing.

Oatmeal’s comforting.

It’s warm. Welcoming. And very, very sweet.

Or at least mine is.

If oatmeal were a holiday it would be Chrankgiving. Or Thristmasing.  Oatmeal = Bing Crosby/Family gatherings/Smell of home made potpourri/Snow days/Pumpkin pie cheesecake filled bellies/sharing a recliner with your parents in the dark watching the lights on the Christmas tree/Eating too much until your busting at the seems. But all year round!!!

My love for oatmeal runs deep. Enough said.

Inspired by my big ‘ole bowl of oats that I’m chowing down, here are some oat-tastic recipes from Tasty Kitchen. Warning: Pictures below will cause immense drooling. Prepare as needed.

Steel Cut Oats with Banana and Cobbler Topping

Make these this weekend! Oatmeal Pancakes

Warm Oatmeal Cake and Ice Cream

Baked Oatmeal

Oatmeal Fudge Bars

Saucer-Size Oatmeal Cookies

From One of My Fave Food Blogs! Oatmeal Cinnamon-Raisin Scones

Old Fashion Oatmeal Pie

Oatmeal Muffins with Nutella Frosting

Chocolate Oatmeal Cream Pies

Lovely, isn’t it. And imagine, all that happiness from such a small thing.

5 thoughts on “Oat of the Day

  1. Pingback: Oats, Oats, They’re Good for Your Heart…. « nattynook

What are your thoughts?

