Making the Yellow Switch: Bookshelf

You know how I’ve been promising to post about me new fave bookshelf reno? Well, I am done with promises and am finally delivering.

In the words of Nathan Scott, “Don’t say I never gave you anything”.

I’ve been watching WAY too much One Tree Hill…

I bought this bookshelf way back before color t.v. and recently found it hiding in a closet and decided to give it a face lift.

Okay, I wasn’t around before color t.v. but I wanted to highlight that I’ve had this thing forever. FOR-EV-ER.

It took me about 2 weeks to finish but in all reality, it was about 3 hours of actual work and only around $10!

The bookshelf before… Disregard our nasty rag on top… I was cleaning off the bookshelf and stopped in mid-action for a snapshot.

To do first… sand down the first coat of paint that you picked out but changed your mind about after spraying half of it…

Bookshelf: Post-sanding…

Pick out your base paint…

I painted the top with a coat of this stuff so that it would make the stripes MUCH easier in the long run… My husband has such smart ideas!

I applied 3 coats… lots of waiting in between. No worries, I seemed to be able to fill the time with plenty of One Tree Hill reruns.

See why I needed 3 coats in the above pic? After the paint dried, I taped out what I wanted the stripes to look like…

Now comes the best part… the grand finale… begin spraying. I used the same paint as the mirror… It’s called Warm Yellow. I heart Warm Yellow…

And the final project…

Here’s a closer look at the top of the shelf… I love it!!! I’m going to add brown wicker baskets and make this a mini-dresser for our spare room.. I’ll keep you posted as I finish the look 🙂

 

What do you think??

6 thoughts on “Making the Yellow Switch: Bookshelf

  1. adorable! THANK YOU! I had NO idea you could paint those ugly veneer bookshelves. I have several in my kids’ school room, and I kept thinking I would replace them one day with wood bookshelves I could paint bright and fun for them! So, all you do is sand and paint with spray paint? I’m so excited! 🙂

    • You’re welcome! Ya, and really I don’t think you need to sand unless it already has a layer of paint. I had to sand the top but the rest of it was fine not being sanded 🙂 Glad you like the idea! –Kirby

What are your thoughts?

