Russian Sirniki (cottage cheese pancakes)

Get blown away, my friends, Lena is posting a recipe! I know, Kirby kind of has established a monopoly on those around here (and deservingly so!), but let me tell you one thing – if my hands ever prepared anything remotely edible, it’s this Russian breakfast meal. It will change your life, knock your socks off, and rock your world. This has become our Saturday breakfast tradition and it will remain a tradition with our future children, because I will “say so”! 

Here is what you need for the best breakfast of your life:

200 gr of Cottage cheese

2 eggs

3 tbsp sugar

1/2 cup of flour

Preparation process is much the same as with making pancakes. Combine all the ingredients, stir, and pour on hot pan, flip over to achieve the golden brown effect… isn’t that what it’s called in the cooking language?

*In Russia we would usually use dry curd cottage cheese. We would actually make little balls out of the dough, roll them in some more flower, and then fry. I haven’t been able to find the dry curd kind, but regular cottage cheese works just fine and sirniki still taste amazing.*

Doesn’t this just seem to be a much healthier version of pancakes?

If you like, you can eat them with syrup or butter. Hubby and I love them plain.

Except when I add a spoonful or four of sweetened condensed milk. 

You HAVE to let me know, if you make these! 

7 thoughts on “Russian Sirniki (cottage cheese pancakes)

  1. What is cottage cheese? Liquid tvorog? Or something like Adygei cheese?

    Sirniki with a bowl of sweetened condensed milk… Mmmm!!! I’m drooling… 🙂

    • Svet, yeah it’s kind of like liquid tvorog. At least the kind I get. I’m thinking there is the dry kind somewhere too, I just haven’t been able to find it.
      ~l

  2. Um hi. Sign me up for this recipe! It looks awesome… maybe I’ll make it for my dad and his family when they come and visit! Girl, you’ve got this cooking thing down :)–Kirby

  3. Yummy, I LOVE sirniki.

    Ленусик! С Днем Рождения тебя! Счастья тебе, радости, хороших людей вокруг, прекрасного настроения, здоровья, чтобы жизнь радовала и исполнялись желания!!!!! Целую, лю! ♥♪♥☼♥♪♥☼♥♪♥☼

What are your thoughts?

